Inaugural Issue Published!

Under the Editorial Leadership of Rodolphe Barrangou, PhD
Read Now

Listen to the latest episode of GuidePost, our new podcast series featuring candid conversation with the pioneers and practitioners of CRISPR and gene editing research:

Brought to you by MilliporeSigma CRISPR; innovative reagents you can trust. Listen to previous podcasts.

Stay Connected

Get the latest news and announcements on The CRISPR Journal

About The CRISPR Journal

Who would have imagined that CRISPR (Clustered Regularly Interspersed Short Palindromic Repeats) would become a household word? In the past few years, this extraordinary gene editing technology has captured the imagination of scientists worldwide. Applications range from an array of basic research areas to diagnosing and curing genetic and infectious diseases and engineering longer-lived crops.

In recognition of this extraordinary scientific and technological era, Mary Ann Liebert, Inc., publishers recently announced the creation of The CRISPR Journal -- an international, multidisciplinary peer-reviewed journal publishing outstanding research on the myriad applications and underlying technology of CRISPR.

Debuting in 2018, The CRISPR Journal will be published online and in print with flexible open access options, providing a high-profile venue for groundbreaking research, as well as lively and provocative commentary, analysis, and debate. The CRISPR Journal adds an exciting and dynamic component to the Mary Ann Liebert, Inc. portfolio, which includes GEN (Genetic Engineering & Biotechnology News) and more than 80 leading peer-reviewed journals. Visit the full journal website for more information.

Editorial Excellence

The CRISPR Journal  Editorial Board includes leading researchers from around the world working on every facet of CRISPR and gene editing:

  • ★ Editor-in-Chief Rodolphe Barrangou North Carolina State University (USA)
  • ★ Executive Editor Kevin DaviesMary Ann Liebert, Inc., publishers
  • ★ Associate Editors Caixia GaoChinese Academy of Sciences (China)
  • Stanley Lei QiStanford University (USA)
  • Virginijus SiksnysVilnius Institute of Technology (Lithuania)
  • Samuel SternbergColumbia University (USA)
  • ★Managing Editor Courtney KlotzNorth Carolina State University (USA)

  • Denis Bauer CSIRO (Australia)
  • Joseph Bondy-Denomy University of California, San Francisco (USA)
  • Emmanuelle Charpentier Max Planck Institute for Infection Biology (Germany)
  • George Church Harvard Medical School (USA)
  • Jacob Corn IGI University of California, Berkeley (USA)
  • Jennifer Doudna University of California, Berkeley (USA)
  • Stephen Ekker Mayo Clinic (USA)
  • Peter C. Fineran University of Otago (New Zealand)
  • Stephen Floor University of California, San Francisco (USA)
  • Caixia Gao Chinese Academy of Sciences (China)
  • Charles A. Gersbach Duke University (USA)
  • Luke A. Gilbert University of California, San Francisco (USA)
  • Asma Hatoum-Aslan University of Alabama (USA)
  • Patrick Hsu Salk Institute for Biological Studies (USA)
  • Maria Jasin (Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center)
  • Quanjiang Ji Shanghai Tech University (China)
  • Eugene V. Koonin National Center for Biotechnology Information, NIH (USA)
  • Hong Li Florida State University (USA)
  • Shirley Liu Dana Farber Cancer Institute (USA)
  • Anita Marchfelder Ulm University (Germany)
  • Karen Maxwell University of Toronto (Canada)
  • Shondra Miller St Jude's Children's Research Hospital (USA)
  • Francisco Mojica University of Alicante (Spain)
  • Tony Nolan Imperial College, London (UK)
  • Eric Olson University of Texas Southwestern (USA)
  • Vikram Pattanayak Massachusetts General Hospital (USA)
  • Matthew Porteus Stanford University (USA)
  • Lennart Randau Max Planck Institute for Terrestrial Microbiology (Germany)
  • Alasdair Russell CRUK Cambridge (UK)
  • Dipali Sashital Iowa State University (USA)
  • Jacob Sherkow New York Law School (USA)
  • Erik J. Sontheimer University of Massachusetts Medical School (USA)
  • Yanli Wang Chinese Academy of Sciences (China)
  • Edze Westra (University of Exeter, UK)
  • Malcolm White University of St Andrews (UK)
  • Blake Wiedenheft Montana State University (USA)
  • Matthew Willmann Cornell University (USA)
  • Takashi Yamamoto Hiroshima University (Japan)
  • Huimin Zhao University of Illinois (USA)
  • Jian-Kang Zhu Shanghai Institute for Biological Sciences (China)

Manuscript Submissions

The CRISPR Journal will provide a publishing venue for the fast, thorough review and publication of innovative and outstanding research in any area of CRISPR biology, science, technology and application. Papers will be considered that cover:

  • fundamental mechanistic insights into microbial immunity
  • advances in the design of tools and strategies for CRISPR-mediated (and other forms of) gene editing
  • the use of CRISPR technology to address important questions in fields such as cell biology, genetics, immunology, microbiology, neuroscience and plant biology
  • the application of CRISPR gene editing for the diagnosis and treatment of genetic and infectious diseases
  • CRISPR gene editing in food science and plant biology, including genetically modified foods


Manuscript Submission

Including publishing policies and pre-submission inquiries

Dr Kevin Davies
Executive Editor, THE CRISPR JOURNAL
Phone: 914-740-2273

Editorial Questions?


Wendy Newsham
Director of Institutional Sales and Business Development
Phone: 914-740-2233

Subscription Questions?


Victoria Palusevic
Director of Advertising Sales
Phone: 914-740-2167

Advertising Questions?